Authority Members

The Government has determined that, pursuant to Article (40) of the Sector Law, the Authority shall have five Members. Members of the Authority are collectively responsible for managing the Authority’s affairs and for ensuring that it fulfils all of its statutory obligations. Accordingly, the Council of Ministers approved the appointment of the following persons as Members of the Authority:

Eng. Saleh bin Hamoud Al Rashdi

Chairman

Eng. Saleh bin Hamoud Al Rashdi was appointed as Chairman since 2017 unanimously by the Board Members. He gained wide experience in the field of the establishment and supervision of Independent Water and Power Projects and future plans for power projects, preparation of tender documents and participation in the negotiations with investors. Mr. Al Rashdi was working in the Electricity Sector since 1989 at the Ministry of Housing and Electricity and Water. When the sector was restructured, he was an Acting Chief Executive Officer - Oman Power and Water Procurement Company from 2007 to 2008. In addition, he served as Deputy Chief Executive Officer during 2008 till 2010. Then, Mr. Al Rashdi worked as Technical Adviser at Electricity Holding Company for two years. He was the Vice President of Generation until 2015. He also was also a Board Member of the Rural Areas Electricity Company, Wadi Al Jizzi Power Company and Al Ghubrah Power and Desalination Company. 


Eng. Al Rashdi completed a MSC course in the Management of Engineering Projects from Lancaster University in 1997.  He also gained a Higher Diploma in Mechanical Engineering from Sunderland Polytechnic-UK in 1989, as well as Diploma in Engineering Technology from Bradford College-UK in 1987. 
 

Qais Al Zakwani

Executive Director

As a specialist in utility regulation and program management, Qais Al Zakwani was appointed Executive Director and member of the Authority for Electricity Regulation by the Council of Ministers in 2014. In his role as Executive Director, Al Zakwani oversees the regulation of Oman’s electricity and related water sector. He has particular responsibility for proposing the general policy of the sector and for preparing programs for its development in accordance with the appropriate laws.

He joined the Authority for Electricity Regulation in 2007 as a Regulatory Advisor in the Office of the Executive Director, and in 2009, was promoted to the position of Deputy Executive Director. Prior to this, he served as an economist at the Telecommunications Regulatory Authority.

A member of a number of steering committees, Al Zakwani was most recently made Chairman of Oman Post Company.

Al Zakwani graduated from the University of Oxford’s Said Business School with a Master’s in Major Programme Management and holds a second Master’s degree in Utility Regulation with a specialization in Competition Policy from the London School of Economics.

Ayisha Al Mawali

Board Member

Ayisha Al Mawali was appointed as a Board Member since 2014 as a banker by profession with over 37 years of experience in finance, accounting, strategic planning and projects management. Having joined the Oman Currency Board (Central Bank of Oman now) as a fresh graduate in 1974, Mrs. Al Mawali helped pioneer the introduction of Risk-Based Audit System in the Central Bank and was appointed as Vice President – Audit in 2006. Mrs. Al Mawali is currently working now as an advisor for CBO and has a strong commitment to human resources and professional development. She is a founding member of the Institute of Internal Auditors.

Mrs. Al Mawali holds Higher National Diploma of Business studies in Banking, High Institute for Financial & Commercial Studies, Khartoum, as well as Associate of The Institute of Bankers, London.

Mohammed bin Ahmed Al Shahri

Board Member

Mohammed Al Shahri was appointed as a Board Member since 2014. He served for twenty years before and after his degree in the government where he practiced various legal aspects such as drafting and reviewing of contracts, supervision and follow up of legal aspects of ongoing projects. Mr. Al Shahri started his working career in the private sector for four years, then served with The Sultans Armed Forces and retired as a Major. In 2003, he practiced Advocacy and formed up "Mohammed Al Shahri & Associates" in 2004.  

Mr. Al Shahri participated in the final drafting and translation of Sohar Industrial Port (SAOC) Rules & Regulations and was appointed as the Omani Law Legal Advisor for the Wave project from September 2005 to January 2007.
    
Mr. Al Shahri Graduated with Licence de Droit (Licence at Law) from Beirut Arab University (Beirut) in 1990. He is a member of the Lawyers Association, Omani Economical Association, and International Bar Association.

Hamed Ali Matar Al Jabri

Board Member

Hamed Al Jabri is a professional Civil Engineer holding a BSc in Civil & Structural Engineering (Honors), from the University of Bradford, United Kingdom. Mr. Al-Jabri was appointed as a Board Member during the year 2018.

He has over 27 years of experience in the field of Construction, Projects and Engineering Management in Oil & Gas, Water, and Wastewater sectors.

Mr. Al-Jabri spent his first twelve years of his career at Petroleum Development Oman (PDO) holding various posts before Joining Haya Water in 2003 where he had a lot of contributions in the structuring and building up of the company and served as the General Manger for Projects and then Assets.

In addition, he served as Project Manager &General Manger – Project Execution in Public Authority for Electricity and Water (PAEW) from 2010 to 2014 responsible for water infrastructure projects. Currently, he is heading the Engineering and Projects teams in Mott MacDonald Group-Oman managing the engineering of Major oil and gas projects in the country.

أعضاء الهيئة

قرر مجلس الوزراء الموقر أن تشكل الهيئة من خمسة أعضاء وذلك بموجب المادة (40) من قانون القطاع . أعضاء الهيئة مسؤولون بشكل جماعي عن إدارة شؤون الهيئة وضمان وفائها بجميع إلتزاماتها القانونية. وطبقاً لذلك، وافق مجلس الوزراء الموقر على تعيين الأشخاص الآتية أسماءهم كأعضاء بالهيئة:

المهندس صالح بن حمود الراشدي

رئيس الهيئة

لقد تم تعيين المهندس صالح بن حمود الراشدي كرئيساً للهيئة منذ عام 2017م وذلك باتفاق أعضاء مجلس الإدارة. ويحظى الراشدي بخبرة واسعة في مجال تأسيس والإشراف على مشاريع المياه والطاقة المستقلة، والخطط المستقبلية لمشاريع الطاقة واعداد مستندات المناقصات والمشاركة في المفاوضات مع المستثمرين. وقد بدأ الراشدي مسيرته المهنية في قطاع الكهرباء منذ عام 1989م بوزارة الإسكان والكهرباء والمياه آنذاك. وعند إعادة هيكلة القطاع شغل منصب القائم بأعمال الرئيس التنفيذي بالشركة العُمانية لشراء الطاقة والمياه في الفترة 2007 – 2008م، حيث كان قبل ذلك نائب الرئيس التنفيذي بالشركة في الفترة من 2008م وحتى عام 2010م لينتقل بعدها كمستشاراً فنياً في شركة الكهرباء القابضة ولمدة عامين. وفي عام 2012م، شغل منصب نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لشركات الإنتاج في شركة الكهرباء القابضة حتى عام 2015 م. وكان عضوا بمجلس إدارة شركة كهرباء المناطق الريفية وشركة وادي الجزي للطاقة وشركة الغبرة للطاقة والتحلية. 

المهندس صالح الراشدي حاصلاً على شهادة ماجستير العلوم في إدارة المشاريع الهندسية بجامعة لانكستر في عام 1997م. و دبلوم عالي في الهندسة الميكانيكية بكلية سندرلاند التقنية المتعددة - المملكة المتحدة في عام 1989، عدا عن  دبلوم في التقنية الهندسية بكلية برادفورد من المملكة المتحدة في عام 1987م. 

قيس الزكواني

المدير التنفيذي

تمّ تعيين قيس الزكواني مديراً تنفيذياً وعضواً في هيئة تنظيم الكهرباء من جانب مجلس الوزراء في عام 2014، وذلك بصفته متخصصاً في تنظيم المرافق وإدارة البرامج. وتتضمن مهام الزكواني في هذا المنصب القياديّ الاشراف على تنظيم الكهرباء في السلطنة وقطاع المياه المرتبط بها. كما يتولّى مسؤولية خاصة في صياغة السياسة العامة للقطاع وإعداد البرامج الهادفة إلى تنميته وفقا للقوانين المعمول بها.

وقد انضم الزكواني إلى هيئة تنظيم الكهرباء في عام 2007 كمستشارٍ تنظيمي في مكتب المدير التنفيذي في ذلك الحين. وتمّت ترقيته في عام 2009 إلى منصب نائب المدير التنفيذيّ. وقبل ذلك، فقد عمل خبيرا اقتصادياً في هيئة تنظيم الاتصالات.

ولدى الزكواني عضوية فعّالة في عددٍ من اللجان التوجيهية، كما تمّ تعيينه مؤخراً رئيساً لمجلس إدارة شركة بريد عُمان.

هذا، وقد تخرّج الزکواني من کلیة إدارة الأعمال التابعة  لجامعة أکسفورد، حيث حصل منها علی درجة الماجستیر في إدارة البرامج. كما أنّه حاصلٌ علی درجة ماجستیر أخرى في تنظیم المرافق، تخصص سیاسات المنافسة، من کلیة لندن للاقتصاد.

عائشة المعولي

عضو مجلس إدارة الهيئة

لقد تم تعيين الفاضلة عائشة المعولية كعضو في مجلس الإدارة منذ عام 2014م حيث تمتلك خبرة لأكثر من 37 عاماً في المحاسبة والمالية والتخطيط الاستراتيجي وإدارة المشاريع. وقد بأت مشوراها المهني منذ عام 1974م في مجلس النقد العُماني (البنك المركزي العُماني حالياً) حيث ساعدت في قيادة إدخال نظم التدقيق المستند على أسس المخاطر وواصلت إنجازاتها إلى أن تم تعيينها في منصب نائب الرئيس للتدقيق في عام 2006م. وتعمل المعوليه حالياً كمستشار للبنك، ولديها التزام قوي بتنمية الموارد البشرية والمهنية، وهي عضو مؤسس لمعهد المدققين الداخليين- عُمان.

وقد تخرجت المعولية بالدبلوم الوطني العالي للدراسات التجارية في المجال المصرفي من المعهد العالي للدراسات المالية والتجارية – الخرطوم،  وحاصلة على شهادة مشارك في معهد المصرفيين – لندن.

المحامي محمد بن أحمد الشحري

عضو مجلس إدارة الهيئة

لقد تم تعيين المحامي محمد بن أحمد الشحري في مجلس الإدارة منذ عام 2014م حيث عمل لمدة عشرين عاماً قبل وبعد حصوله على الشهادة الجامعية في الحكومة حيث مارس مختلف الجوانب القانونية مثل صياغة ومراجعة العقود والإشراف على ومتابعة الجوانب القانونية للمشاريع. وقد بدأ المحامي محمد الشحري حياته العملية في القطاع الخاص حيث عمل لمدة أربع سنوات، كما عمل في قوات السلطان المسلحة وتقاعد برتبة رائد. وبدأ ممارسة المحاماة في عام 2003م وقام بتأسيس مكتب "محمد الشحري ومعاونوه في 2004م. 

وقد شارك  المحامي محمد الشحري في الصياغة النهائية والترجمة لقواعد ولوائح شركة ميناء صحار الصناعي (ش.م.ع.م) كما تم تعيينه كمستشار قانوني للقوانين العمانية لمشروع الموج للفترة من سبتمبر 2005 إلى يناير 2007.

وقد تخرج المحامي محمد الشحري بشهادة بكالريوس الحقوق من جامعة بيروت العربية في عام 1990م.  وهو عضو بجمعية المحاميين والجمعية الاقتصادية العُمانية وجمعية المحاميين الدولية.

المهندس حمد بن علي الجابري

عضو مجلس إدارة الهيئة

يُعدّ حمد الجابري مهندساً مدنياً محترفاً وحاصلاً على شهادة البكالوريوس في الهندسة المدنية والإنشائية (بمرتبة الشرف) من جامعة برادفورد بالمملكة المتحدة. ولقد تم تعيينه عضواً في مجلس الإدارة منذ عام 2018م.

ويحظى الجابري بخبرة واسعة تفوق 27 عاماً في مجال الإنشاءات والمشاريع والهندسة في قطاعات النفط والغاز والمياه والصرف الصحي.

وقد أمضى أول 12 عاماً من حياته المهنية في شركة تنمية نفط عُمان حيث شغل العديد من المناصب قبل انضمامه لشركة حيا للمياه في عام 2003م حيث أسهم بشكل كبير في هيكلة وبناء الشركة متقلداً منصب مدير عام المشاريع أولاً ثم الأصول.

إضافة إلى ذلك، شغل المهندس حمد الجابري منصب مدير المشاريع والمدير العام - تنفيذ المشاريع بالهيئة العامة للكهرباء والمياه في الفترة من عام 2010م إلى 2014م حيث اضطلع بمسؤولية مشاريع البنية الأساسية للمياه. وفي الوقت الحالي، يرأس فريقي الهندسة والمشاريع في مجموعة "موت ماكدونالد عُمان" وهو يدير هندسة مشاريع النفط والغاز الرئيسية في البلاد.